Travel requirements

Airport Improvement Tariff at El Salvador International Airport

The Comisión Ejecutiva Portuaria Autónoma (CEPA), the airport authority in El Salvador, has established a fee, to be paid by passengers, for transit through the San Oscar Arnulfo Romero y Galdámez airport, which serves El Salvador.

The fee is USD 1,130 (USD 1,000 + 13% taxes), will apply to passengers of certain countries, (listed below) and will begin to be charged by the airline as of Saturday, October 28, this must be paid by passengers prior the boarding of the flight 

It is important to know that, even if you pay the fee, there is a possibility that, upon arrival at El Salvador, the General Directorate of Immigration and Foreigners will deny your transit through the country in accordance with its legal powers.  

Remember that the authorization of entry, transit, transfer, stay and departure in El Salvador depends 100% on the immigration authority. 

  • The Tariff payment will be a mandatory requirement prior to boarding your flight to El Salvador International Airport.
  • If you purchased your ticket before October 23rd and are not willing to pay the tariff, you may refund your avianca ticket either through our website or through the travel agency where you made the purchase.
  • For tickets issued by other airlines, please contact the corresponding airline or agency.
  • The measure applies to passengers in transit in El Salvador of the following nationalities, regardless of their country of residence and place of departure. 

The nationalities subject to this measure are listed below.

  • Angola
  • Algeria
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Comoros
  • Ivory Coast
  • Chad
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea – Bissau
  • Equatorial Guinea 
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritius
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Mauritius
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Western Sahara
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Somaliland
  • South Africa (Republic)
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Djibouti
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Was this article helpful?